Quinoa Veggie Burger

We’ve been on a journey of eating less meat and finding alternatives to our favourite meals. My husband called me on the way home from work one day craving a burger. So I jumped on the opportunity to trick him into a delicious burger that wasn’t filled with his ‘manly’ beef!

I found a great recipe in my Quinoa Revolution cookbook and adapted it with stuff I already had at home. You can find the original recipe on page 148 of the cookbook which I highly recommend you buy!

Image

Here’s how you can make this amazing burger.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup red quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1 cup finely diced onions (I finely chopped mine to a puree texture for a picky kid who can find onions in just about anything!)
  • 2 cups finely chopped mushrooms
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup of Bothwell Shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup of rolled oats (gluten-free if required)
  • 1 Tbsp sodium-reduced tamari or soy sauce (gluten-free if required)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees Celsius). Line your baking sheet with parchment paper. I highly recommend using parchment paper so it doesn’t stick. I learned this the hard way!!

Cook the quinoa in a medium saucepan by combining the 1/2 cup red quinoa with the 1 cup water. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit, covered, for an additional 10 minutes. Fluff with a fork and let cool.

In a large saucepan add the grapeseed oil on medium heat. Add onions* and cook for 5 minutes or until onions are soft and transparent. Add the mushrooms*, garlic*, oregano and cook for an additional 5 minutes. Set aside to cool.

In a bowl, beat the egg. Add the quinoa, mushroom mixture, shredded Bothwell cheese, toasted walnuts, oats and tamari (soy) sauce. Place 1/2 cup portions of the burger mix onto the baking sheet and shape into 8 or 9 patties 1 inch (2/5 cm) thick. Be sure to leave 1 inch between each patty. Bake for 27 to 30 minutes, until slightly browned and crispy. Serve on your favourite hamburger bread (gluten-free bread if required). Add your favourite garnishes, such as lettuce, tomatoes, onions, mustard, ketchup or sprouts. My husband loves his cheese, so he added Bothwell Cheese Horseradish to his.

If you are in the Winnipeg area and are looking for some great gluten-free products, we found fabulous gluten-free hamburger buns at Lorenzo’s Specialty Foods at 1060 St. Mary’s Road. You can find gluten-free mustard, ketchup, oats, tamari sauce and so much more at Lorenzo’s or Vita Health.

So, how did it turn out? Both kids and my husband gave it two thumbs up! My kids thought they were eating meat, and my husband was hooked. He even took one for work the next day. The best part was we didn’t feel sluggish and bloated after eating our burgers. Next time I plan to make home-made sweet potato fries to accompany our burgers.

*Tip for those with picky eaters. I used my food processor and pureed my onions. Then I pureed my mushrooms and the garlic together. Neither kid noticed when eating their burger.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

